From the Mist


The second outing while in San francisco was on the last Saturday, driving in the opposite direction this time over the great span and impressive structure of the Bay bridge.
By the time I had arrived at the destination, the blue skies were no more as a thick bay area fog had swallowed up the whole area, if a covert entrance was actually needed then it would have been perfect.
A short walk by the train track and I could see the massive storage towers emerge from the grey.
I was getting accustomed to soggy feet by now, my choice of footwear for this trip was frankly ridiculous and my canvas trainers would have to be disposed of later on that day.
The cement works was reduced to a ruin consisting of the towers, a circular barn type building and 2 larger buildings which would have been the main building, now just walls and foundation structs.

The fog gave the place an eerie and claustrophobic feel, especially when you are wandering around alone in the silence. My camera set to monochrome mode, I went about trying to capture this sense of solitude.
The floor of the barns interior was covered with a thick layer of sludge, I had given up trying to keep my feet dry by this point though, the roof in contrast though was dizzying, a spiders web which looked almost kaleidoscopic with the grey sky visible through the deteriorated wood.

Cement_Works

The ruins

The ruins

The ruins

The ruins

2 thoughts on “From the Mist

Comments are closed.